Pravčická Brána has been standing since time immemorial. It is the result of millions of years of weathering on less resistant parts of solid rock, formed by ashlar sandstone from the Turonian age.
When tourists first started to discover the beauty of Pravčická Brána there was a small, bark-covered cabin at the foot of it which served as a pub. The access road from Hřensko, called "Pelagiensteig", was paved back in the late 1870s and at that time promenade trails to Mezní Louka were also built.
The first tourists were recruited from among the city dwellers and the nobility. Although the road from Hřensko to Pravčická Brána is only several kilometres, it was customary to rent mules and porters for an excursion.
In 1881, Prince Edmund Clary-Aldringen, who owned the estate, had a chateau built near Pravčická Brána which was called the Falcon's Nest. For this purpose he invited workers from Italy – since they were the cheapest work force. The entire chateau was built within a single year, which, considering its extensiveness and the time in which it was built, is nearly a record. Several years later a railing was built on the rock outlooks in the immediate vicinity. Soon after the restaurant was built an admission fee to the area started to be charged. Since the times when Pravčická Brána was "discovered" for tourism, arguably millions of people have visited it. Among the more famous personalities the fairy-tale author Hans Christian Andersen admired its allure on two separate occasions – in 1831 and 1851. He undoubtedly drew much inspiration here for his work.